Galway Chess Congress Coming Up!

This year’s Galway Chess Congress takes place from Friday 4th October to Sunday 6th.  As usual, there are tournaments for players of all strengths – from Grandmasters to people who have never played in a tournament before.  So there is certain to be something for you!

            We are trying out a different venue: the Menlo Park Hotel.  This is supposed to be a better hotel, and is considerably easier to get to – unless you live in Salthill or southern Connemara, perhaps.  (Apologies to those who live there – you are still very welcome, and we hope you make the small extra effort to come along.)  There also will not be weddings going on at the same time, so we hope that the playing conditions will be better and less noisy.  And it is slightly nearer the centre of Galway, for those who like to take in some nightlife whilst they are here.


For full information about the Congress, including an entry form, look at the “Congress: 2013” link above.  We are now receiving entries, so get your entries in early to make sure of the discount on the entry fee.  Early entries include GM Alex Baburin, defending champion IM Alex Lopez, and IM Mark Heidenfeld.


If you have any queries, do feel free to ask – either by responding here or by email to our email address galwaychess [at] gmail [dot] com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

    January 12th - Grand Re-opening Blitz

    January 19th - Free evening/Winter League Catchup night

    January 26th - Galway Winter League Round 5

    February 2nd - February Blitz

    February 3rd-5th - Sligo Chess Congress

    February 9th - Beginners' Evening

    March 10th-12th Galway Chess Congress

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte