May Blitz Results

Our season-ending blitz tournament, held on 16th May, was won by Pete Morriss, who scored 5½ points out of a possible 7. Second was Lorcan Heron, on 5 points; he would also have won the “most promising junior” accolade, if we had one. The rating prize, for the highest-finishing player rated in the bottom half, […]

Galway Winter League won by Anand Kumar

The 2023-4 Galway Winter League (our club championship) was won by Anand Kumar after an exciting and tense play-off against Chris Jonker. Both had scored 5½ points out of 7. I will post the full results, and list of prize-winners, shortly.

Galway come second in National Club Championship

Galway Chess Club came second in the National Club Championship, held in Dublin on the weekend of 26-28 April. In fact we came first equal with two other teams (Elm Mount and Ennis), winning four matches and losing one. Although we beat both Elm Mount and Ennis (who didn’t play each other), the tie-break system […]

April Blitz Results

The April Blitz Tournament, played on April 11th, ended with joint winners, Pete Morriss and Chris Jonker both scoring 6 points out of 7.  The rating prize, for the highest-finishing player rated in the lower half of the entries, went to Lorcan Heron, who also came fourth equal, on 4 points.  This was an excellent performance, as Lorcan left before the last round (for […]

Spring Rapidplay 2024 Results

Our Spring Rapidplay tournament was completed on Thursday 4 April. The winner was Pete Morriss, who scored 8 points out of a maximum of 9. Second was Eoin Callinan on 7 points, and third John Farrell with 5½. The rating prize, for the best performance by a player in the lower half, was won by […]

March Blitz Results

The blitz tournament held on Thursday 7 March, played at our faster rate of 3 minutes plus 2 seconds increment, was won by Brian Gallagher with 8 points out of 9. Second equal were Sam Cassels and Pete Morriss, on 7 points. The rating prize was won by Badr Salah who scored 6 points (which […]

February Blitz results

The winner of the February Blitz, played on 8th February, was Simon Iwasaki, who scored 6/7. Second was Pete Morriss on 5½. The rating prize was won by Scott Reilly, with an excellent score of 5 points, whilst an honourable mention must go to Sophie Maher, who scored 4 points.

Galway club members do well in Sligo tournaments

Some news of achievements by our members in tournaments elsewhere in Ireland.  First, two of our younger members braved Storm Isha in January to play in the Connaught Junior Championship in Sligo, and both achieved excellent results in the under-14 event: Cillian Bracken came outright second (with 4½ points out of 6), whilst Lorcan Heron came outright third on 4 points. […]

January Blitz won by Alex Drimbarean

The January blitz, held on 18 January, was won by Alex Drimbarean, with 6 points out of 7. Second equal were Luke Iwasaki and Pete Morriss on 5. The rating prize, for the best performance by a player seeded in the lower half, was won by Jack Crean, who was playing in his first tournament […]

Christmas Blitz tournament: Thursday 14 December

Thursday 14 December sees our year-ending Christmas Blitz tournament. In addition to providing the opportunity of playing seven games of chess, there will be seasonal offerings for you to consume. The seasonal offerings are yet to be decided, but the chess will be played at a speed of 5 minutes per player per game plus […]