Galway Rapidplay won by Yury Rochev

The Galway Rapidplay was won convincingly by Galway’s own Yury Rochev, with 8½ points out of 9; second was Philip Short, also of Galway, with 7; there was a tie for third place, on 6 points, between Brendan Buckley (Galway), Karol Marzec (Poland), and Diana Mirza (Limerick).  Grading prizes were won by Andrew Barber (Galway) and Evan Doyle (Castlebar).  Perhaps it’s worth pointing out that, despite Galway’s dominance in the prizes, less than half the entrants were from Galway.

For the full results of the event, and some pictures taken during play and the prize giving, see the Rapidplay 2013 link above.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.