The 2019 Chess World Cup and You

The 2019 Chess World Cup is a knockout competition which runs from the 9th September – 4th of October, and features 128 of the top chess players from all around the world.

To make this even more exciting for you and to support the Galway Chess Club, we want to encourage you to back a small selection of players in the hopes of winning some money.

Below is a ranked table of all 128 participants, each of whom can have at most one backer. For a fiver, you can choose three of these players to back (one from 1-40, one from 41-80, and one from 81-128.) If one of your backed players wins the tournament, you will win five times their ranking number (plus your original fiver); e.g. if you have backed Ding Liren and he wins, you get €10 back, if you have backed Wesley So and he wins, you get €25, and if you have backed Shaun Press and he wins, you get €645.

To enter, email us at galwaychess[at]gmail[dot]com, with your name (or nom-de-plume to display, in case you wish to keep your investment a secret for spousal/Revenue purposes), three selected players (one each from within ranges 1-40, 41-80, 81-128), and a promise to hand over a fiver to us at the next available opportunity. Given that there’ll be a max of one backer per player (in the interests of avoiding bankruptcy), we’ll operate on a first-come-first-served basis, and we’ll deal with any complications if and when they arrive. Any surplus will go towards the club’s rent for next year.

If all three of your choices make it through the first round, you may pick a free extra fourth player from any of the remaining unselected players.
If you enter after the first round has started, but before the start of the second, entry is €10 for three candidates, and you can’t select a fourth player.

1Ding Liren (CHN)2805Bill
2Anish Giri (NED)2779Round 3
3Maxime Vachier-Lagrave (FRA)2778James
4Wesley So (USA)2776Round 4Ian
5Ian Nepomniachtchi (RUS)2774Round 4Fintan
6Levon Aronian (ARM)2765Conall
7Shakhriyar Mamedyarov (AZE)2764Round 4Shane
8Leinier Domínguez (USA)2763
9Alexander Grischuk (RUS)2759Round 5Scott
10Teimour Radjabov (AZE)2758
11Vladislav Artemiev (RUS)2757Round 3Pete
12Yu Yangyi (CHN)2752Kevin
13Sergey Karjakin (RUS)2750Round 3Kevin
14Hikaru Nakamura (USA)2743Round 2Fiona
15Dmitry Andreikin (RUS)2743
16Radosław Wojtaszek (POL)2739
17Pentala Harikrishna (IND)2738
18Jan-Krzysztof Duda (POL)2730Round 4Bill
19Peter Svidler (RUS)2729
20Nikita Vitiugov (RUS)2728
21Wei Yi (CHN)2727
22Le Quang Liem (VIE)2726
23David Navara (CZE)2724
24Bu Xiangzhi (CHN)2721
25Wang Hao (CHN)2720
26Sam Shankland (USA)2713Round 1Eamonn
27Maxim Matlakov (RUS)2710
28Evgeny Tomashevsky (RUS)2706Round 3Maureen
29Vidit Gujrathi (IND)2705
30Dmitry Jakovenko (RUS)2704
31Jeffery Xiong (USA)2703
32Alireza Firouzja (IRI)2702Round 3Zoran
33Daniil Dubov (RUS)2699Round 2Pete
34Bassem Amin (EGY)2692
35Gawain Jones (ENG)2692
36Nils Grandelius (SWE)2691
37Michael Adams (ENG)2690Round 1Diego
38Boris Gelfand (ISR)2686
39Jorge Cori (PER)2686
40Maxim Rodshtein (ISR)2684Round 2Ian
41Ernesto Inarkiev (RUS)2682Round 2Kevin
42Luke McShane (ENG)2682Round 2Scott
43Anton Korobov (UKR)2679Round 2Bill
44David Antón Guijarro (ESP)2678
45Arkadij Naiditsch (AZE)2675
46Ruslan Ponomariov (UKR)2675Round 1Diego
47Tamir Nabaty (ISR)2673Round 2James
48Vladimir Fedoseev (RUS)2671Round 2Pete
49Kirill Alekseenko (RUS)2668
50Ferenc Berkes (HUN)2666
51Liviu-Dieter Nisipeanu (GER)2666Round 3Fiona
52Samuel Sevian (USA)2665
53Baskaran Adhiban (IND)2665
54Ivan Cheparinov (GEO)2663Round 2Eamonn
55Sanan Sjugirov (RUS)2662Round 2Maureen
56Ivan Šarić (CRO)2660Round 1Zoran
57Kacper Piorun (POL)2660
58Rustam Kasimdzhanov (UZB)2657
59Parham Maghsoodloo (IRI)2656Round 2Conall
60Alexey Sarana (RUS)2655Round 1Fintan
61Anton Demchenko (RUS)2655
62Igor Kovalenko (LAT)2654
63Benjamin Gledura (HUN)2654
64Sergei Movsesian (ARM)2654
65Grigoriy Oparin (RUS)2654
66Evgeniy Najer (RUS)2653
67Constantin Lupulescu (ROU)2652
68Robert Hovhannisyan (ARM)2650Round 1Shane
69Alexandr Predke (RUS)2650
70Maksim Chigaev (RUS)2643
71Evgeny Bareev (CAN)2643
72Nijat Abasov (AZE)2640
73Benjamin Bok (NED)2640
74Sandro Mareco (ARG)2640
75Ahmed Adly (EGY)2636
76Eduardo Iturrizaga Bonelli (VEN)2635
77Aryan Tari (NOR)2634
78Mircea Parligras (ROU)2633
79Rinat Jumabayev (KAZ)2633
80Nguyen Ngoc Truong Son (VIE)2631
81Ganguly Surya Shekhar (IND)2630Round 1Scott
82S.P. Sethuraman (IND)2630Round 1Fintan
83Andrey Esipenko (RUS)2625Round 2Kevin
84Niclas Huschenbeth (GER)2620Round 2Bill
85S.L. Narayanan (IND)2618
86Abhijeet Gupta (IND)2616
87Neuris Delgado Ramirez (PAR)2612
88Karthikeyan Murali (IND)2612
89Mateusz Bartel (POL)2612Round 1Ian
90Nihal Sarin (IND)2610Round 2Pete
91Lu Shanglei (CHN)2610Round 1Conall
92Aravindh Chithambaram (IND)2607Round 2Eamonn
93Aleksandr Rakhmanov (RUS)2606Round 2Maureen
94Diego Flores (ARG)2604
95Amin Tabatabaei (IRI)2601
96Emilio Cordova (PER)2599
97Arman Pashikian (ARM)2599
98Igor Lysyj (RUS)2596
99Jose Eduardo Martinez Alcantara (PER)2596Round 1Shane
100Alan Pichot (ARG)2596
101Nikita Petrov (RUS)2595
102Nodirbek Abdusattorov (UZB)2594Round 1Zoran
103Eltaj Safarli (AZE)2593
104Aleksei Pridorozhni (RUS)2591
105Xu Xiangyu (CHN)2584
106Daniil Yuffa (RUS)2571
107Aleksej Aleksandrov (BLR)2571Round 1James
108Miguel Santos Ruiz (ESP)2567
109Frode Urkedal (NOR)2566Round 1Fiona
110Carlos Daniel Albornoz Cabrera (CUB)2566
111Cristobal Henriquez Villagra (CHI)2562
112Yuri Gonzalez Vidal (CUB)2554
113Johan-Sebastian Christiansen (NOR)2554
114Krikor Mekhitarian (BRA)2554
115Bilel Bellahcene (ALG)2550
116Susanto Megaranto (INA)2545
117Ehsan Ghaem-Maghami (IRI)2539
118Ilia Iljiushenok (RUS)2533
119Helgi Dam Ziska (FRO)2533
120Paulius Pultinevičius (LTU)2485
121Alder Escobar Forero (COL)2477
122Fy Antenaina Rakotomaharo (MAD)2438
123Essam El Gindy (EGY)2423
124Sugar Gan-Erdene (MGL)2408Round 1Diego
125Sergio Duran Vega (CRI)2395
126Daniel Anwuli (NGR)2284
127Mohammad Fahad Rahman (BAN)2250
128Shaun Press (PNG)1954
  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • Start time 7:30 unless otherwise specified.
    30th March - Blitz
    6th April - Rapidplay
    13th April - Winter League Round 8
    20th April - Blitz
    27th April - Winter League Round 9
    4th May - Rapidplay
    11th May - Blitz and WL Prizegiving

  • Saturday 17 June - Galway Rapidplay (11 a.m. start)

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required