Gerardo wins April blitz (plus recap of results)

Our Winter League winner Gerardo Artola Pola showed that he is indeed a true champion by winning the April blitz with a perfect score of six wins out of six.  Second was Padraic O’Tuathail, with 5/6.  The grading prize was won by Andrew Barber, with 3 points.

To recap the winners for this year’s blitzes have been as follows:

September      Jonathan Melling, Jason Rawlinson, Brendan Buckley, Alex Drimbarean, and Pete Morriss (all first equal)

October           Brendan Buckley (second: Conall Hegarty and Pete Morriss)

November        Pete Morriss and Jason Rawlinson

December        Brendan Buckley (second: Alex Drimbarean)

January            Pete Morriss (second: Alex Drimbarean)

February           Brendan Buckley  (second: Alex Drimbarean)

March               Pete Morriss (second: Jason Rawlinson)

April                  Gerardo Artola Pola (second: Padraic O’Tuathail)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • NEWS

    • Rapidplay: Thursday 28 September
      On Thursday 28 September we will host the first session of our Autumn Rapidplay tournament. Each player will have three games during the evening, and will have 15 minutes to make all … Read more
    • Thursday 21 September: Adult Beginners’ Night
      Galway Chess club’s season continues with an evening particularly for adult beginners on Thursday 21 September. If you think of yourself as a beginner at chess, and would like to … Read more
    • Blitz Tournament: Thursday 14 September
      Galway Chess Club’s 2023-4 season will open with a blitz tournament in our usual venue of upstairs in the Galway Bridge Centre , St Mary’s Road. Entry is from 7.00 … Read more
    • Galway Rapidplay 2023
      The 2023 Galway Rapidplay was held on Saturday 17 June. There was an unprecedented interest in playing in this tournament, and we had to close entries four weeks before the … Read more
    • Galway Rapidplay: Saturday 17 June
      The annual Galway Rapidplay will be held this year on Saturday 17 June in the Galway Bridge Centre.  You will need to enter in advance; you can do that from … Read more