David Piercey and Eamonn win prizes in Bunratty; Galway results in full

Eamonn Abberton (in the Major section) and David Piercey (Minor) both won grading prizes in the Bunratty Chess tournament last weekend.  Congratulations to both of them!  Eamonn was playing for first place in the last round, but nobly allowed a young kid to get that title.  Other notable performances were by our young juniors Denis Ruchko and Eimear O’Tuathail.

Here are our results in full.  Unfortunately we had nobody in the top tournament (rated over 2000) but we were well represented in the other three sections, as follows.  Challengers (1600-1999): Pete Morriss (4½), Jonathon Melling (3½), Pat McMahon (2½), Jason Rawlinson (2), Carlos Silva (2), David Baird (1/5); Major (1200-1599): Eamonn Abberton (4½), Paul Ward (4), Andrew Barber (3½), Kevin Fitzpatrick (2½); Minor (under 1200): David Piercey (4½), Denis Ruchko (4), Ivica Suker (3½), Eimear O’Tuathail (1½/4).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.