Alex Baburin wins Galway Congress for fourth time

The prestigious Galway Congress was won by Irish number one Grand Master Alex Baburin; he came equal first with International Master Vladimir Sveshnikov (who came all the way from Latvia for this event) but Baburin won the trophy with a better tie-break score.  A full list of prize winners is below.  The complete results for all players can be found here: Masters Majors Minors.

The tournament was a big success, with numbers significantly up on last year, and the venue of the Menlo Park Hotel proved very popular with the players.

The new Connaught Champion – the highest placed player who is living in or was born in Connaught – is Philip Short.  Local prize winners include Conall Hegarty, of NUI Galway, who was first equal in the Majors section, and Galway Chess Club members Paul Ward, Anton Kalinichenko and Carlos Silva, who all won grading prizes.  Also worth highlighting was the outstanding performance by Mihailo Manojlovic, who won the Minors tournament (under-1200) with a faultless score of 6/6, whilst his sister Anastasija came outright second on 5½.


Prize winners were as follows.

Masters Section.  First equal: Alex Baburin and Vladimir Sveshnikov (Alex Baburin is Champion on tie-break); Third equal: Valentine Kalinins and Mel Ó Cinnéide

Grading prizes: (2000-2200): Conor O’Donell, David Murray, Gordon Freeman

(under 2000): First prize: Don Short; Second Prize: Ciaran Quinn, Stephen Short and Orison Carlile

Connaught Champion: Philip Short


Majors Section.  First equal: Conall Hegarty, Pat McMahon and Minugas Janusaitis

Grading prizes: (1350-1600): John McMahon and Paul Ward

(under 1350) First prize: Eoin Connolly; Second prize: Anton Kalininchenko

Prize for the highest placed woman (donated by Menlo Park Hotel): Gearóidín Uí Laighléis


Minors Section.  First: Mihailo Manojlovic; Second: Anastasija Manojlovic; Third equal Arran Bolger and Stephen Li

Grading prizes: (901-1000): Joseph Carthy, Alex Start, Alice O’Gorman

(701-900): Robbie Kildea

(700 or less): First Prize: Henry Start; Second Prize: Alex Byrne and Jonathon Peoples

(Unrated): Theo Bowyer, Eamonn Richardson and Carlos Silva



  1. Martin O'Grady says:

    Thanks Pete and your team for a well organized tournament. Great venue and liked that all games played in one room. Plenty of space for everyone.
    Very impressed with one of your team, when asked by David Fitzsimons about how many moves played since a capture in a tough R+N v R ending vs Vladimir Sveshnikov, called out ’42’ without hesitation. Very classy!
    Martin OG

  2. Gabor Horvath says:

    Hi Pete,

    Thanks for the tournament, it was really well organised, everything was running very smoothly. The new hotel was a good choice, we had very nice playing conditions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • NEWS

    • Rapidplay: Thursday 28 September
      On Thursday 28 September we will host the first session of our Autumn Rapidplay tournament. Each player will have three games during the evening, and will have 15 minutes to make all … Read more
    • Thursday 21 September: Adult Beginners’ Night
      Galway Chess club’s season continues with an evening particularly for adult beginners on Thursday 21 September. If you think of yourself as a beginner at chess, and would like to … Read more
    • Blitz Tournament: Thursday 14 September
      Galway Chess Club’s 2023-4 season will open with a blitz tournament in our usual venue of upstairs in the Galway Bridge Centre , St Mary’s Road. Entry is from 7.00 … Read more
    • Galway Rapidplay 2023
      The 2023 Galway Rapidplay was held on Saturday 17 June. There was an unprecedented interest in playing in this tournament, and we had to close entries four weeks before the … Read more
    • Galway Rapidplay: Saturday 17 June
      The annual Galway Rapidplay will be held this year on Saturday 17 June in the Galway Bridge Centre.  You will need to enter in advance; you can do that from … Read more